Byer's Basic Blog

just call us the Tunkhannock Times

I have resigned from Dawn Valley

Posted by joelbyer on May 10, 2009

  This week has been one of the most turbulent, difficult, yet blessed time of my life. For some time now I have been seriously wondering if God wanted me to move on from Dawn Valley. This last week, I felt God lead me from “seriously considering” to making the big decision.

  Wednesday evening I told the board that I was stepping down, and just this Sunday morning I officially announced it to the church. Why? Well, you could write pages of analysis and speculate on multitudes of reasons, but in reality, it’s really simple. I’m leaving Dawn Valley for the same reason I came…following God’s call. We’re really going to miss people around here, and I have come to really know lots of great people, but that’s not enough to back down from God’s “thumb” in my back.
 
 Now, I know that on this blog I post lots of crazy stuff and joke around, but this is no April Fool’s prank or snap decision. The neat thing is that all along this process God has been confirming and re-confirming the process. This morning, as it was announced, and throughout the message, I felt nothing but His peace. Sure at times, I feel scared and at other times I feel worry, but I have learned not to trust those surface emotions, but rather… His steady hand.

  Do I know where I’m going? Nope. I have a trial sermon coming up in a few weeks, but even if that doesn’t work out, I still know that God wants me to move on.

So, I ask for your prayers are our family makes big changes…once we figure out what all those changes will be. We all like to talk about trusting God, but now it’s time for me to lay it all on the line and practice what I preach. I believe God will lead, and you read it here first. πŸ™‚
Not just for us, but for our very special church…Dawn Valley Bible Methodist Church.

6 Responses to “I have resigned from Dawn Valley”

  1. momtogirls said

    Long time reader coming out of the woodwork to say that I will pray for you, your family, and Dawn Valley.

    momtogirls

  2. David and Terri Walter said

    Praying that God will lead and guide your family. We have been very happy to keep up with your family through your blog. Keep encouraged!

  3. Jon Earls said

    On behalf of the Alabama Bible Methodist Conference I would like to (unofficially) give you a warm welcome to come join us in the southland! πŸ™‚

  4. One of the most significant things anyone who is answering the call of God can do is to step out in faith like Abraham of old when God is speaking.

    Yes, it can cause fear.

    Yes, it can seem irrational to friends who love the status quo.

    But it is in these times that one becomes a candidate to accomplish great things for God. God always leads when He calls us to follow, so I will be watching to see how God is going to use you. He will.

    You’ll be in our prayers.

  5. Marvel Harris said

    Just heard that you were moving. I’m with Jon Earls (above), would love for you to come join us in the southland. Anyway, we really want you to go wherever God calls you, and will be lifting you up to our Heavenly Father in prayer during this decision making time. We love you and your family. God bless.

Leave a Reply

 
