Byer's Basic Blog

just call us the Tunkhannock Times

Fear of Rejection

Posted by joelbyer on March 26, 2009

Great Sermon Thoughts from Craig Groeschel

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.
Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the LORD is kept safe.
REJECTION TRAPS
1) OVERLY STARVED.
‘…I have sinned. I violated the LORD’s command…I was afraid of the people and so I gave in to them.’
Approval addicts have an inability to confront.

Approval addicts give in, but are inwardly angry and resentful.

2) OVERLY CAUTIOUS.
Blessed is the man who always fears the LORD, but he who hardens his heart falls into trouble
But because of the Pharisees they would not confess their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue; for they loved praise from men more than praise from God.
HOW TO OVERCOME THE FEAR OF REJECTION

1) SAY “YES” TO PLEASING GOD.
But Jehoshaphat also said to the king of Israel, “First seek the counsel of the LORD.”
But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.
2) SAY “NO” TO PLEASING PEOPLE.
Who are you that you fear mortal men, the sons of men, who are but grass, that you forget the LORD your Maker…
Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.
GOAL: LIVE FOR AN AUDIENCE OF ONE.
By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me.
“Secure in God’s love, I will not surrender my self-worth to the opinions and judgments of others. When I am rejected, I will not retaliate; when I am hurt, I will allow God’s love to heal me. And knowing the pain of rejection, I will seek to love those

One Response to “Fear of Rejection”

  1. Adam said

    Perhaps fear of rejection comes from a disproportionate feeling of shame. Feeling worthy, secure and ‘good enough’ are probably shields against fear of rejection. Counselling and hypnotherapy can help very much to stop a fear of rejection phobia.

Leave a Reply

 
