Byer's Basic Blog

just call us the Tunkhannock Times

25 things about me…

Posted by joelbyer on February 12, 2009

Well, since everyone is doing this, and I’ve been tagged at least once, here goes.

  • 1) My supreme desire, my driving passion, my highest goal, my greatest joy…is to love the Lord my God with ALL of my heart, soul, mind and strength.
  • 2) Starting with my wife, then my children, and on to everyone else, I value relationships.
  • 3) There is a significant chasm between points 1-2 and 4-25. 🙂

  • 4) I hate apathy. Seriously. I’ll be patient if you fail or fall. But it disturbs me deeply when people don’t care or don’t try to do better and change.
  • 5)I love trying to do new things…sometimes too much. 🙂
  • 6) You call it corny humour…I call it too sophisticated for your mini-mind to understand. In other words, weird humour is cool. For instance… What’s brown and sticky? A stick. If a joke like that doesn’t make you laugh and howl for hours, you need counseling.
  • 7) I love fruitcake…and since we are on the subject, plum pudding. So sue me.
  • 8) Hockey rules. You think it doesn’t because you don’t know how to skate. Admit it.
  • 9) I have a nerdy/geeky side to me that sometimes I successfully suppress.
  • 10) I like exercising, and think it’s a crying shame that most people stop exercising once they leave high school.
  • 11) I have a shy streak.
  • 12) God has helped my overcome many insecurities I used to have.
  • 13) I really value transparency.
  • 14) I’m rabidly Canadian. I’m not sure that “rabid” is the best word, but that’s the one I’m using because….oh never mind, on to the next point.
  • 15) If a duck walked into a restaurant and started talking to me, I confess that I wouldn’t know what to say. See point 6.
  • 16) I read encyclopedias as a kid…frequently.
  • 17) I love word games as much as my wife hates them.
  • 18) I think holiness is beautiful.
  • 19)I have discovered that I like guitar…both acoustic and bass. See point 5.
  • 20) I hate being stuck in a rut, and grieve over the multitudes of people I’ve met who have never had the courage to make the transformative choices needed to change their lives.
  • 21) I never put sugar on my cereal. Never.
  • 22) I enjoy preaching…but only if I’m not preaching a boring sermon. I don’t enjoy listening to boring sermons, and I even less enjoy preaching one. Sometimes though…it happens.
  • 23)Paperwork, detailed planning, etc..are not my strength. I’m a big picture type of person.
  • 24) Sometimes I get too uptight and impatient about the little things in life, yet too relaxed and careless about the big things in life….God is helping me here.
  • 25) If I had the option of choosing any church to pastor, any wife to marry, any children to raise, any life to live…I would choose what I have, because Jesus has made my life worth living! There are always battles and problems to be sure…but I’m happy and content. (Phil. 4:11)

That’s it.
Oh and 26. I think that tagging 25 people is somewhat manipulative and/or tacky. Don’t you think so?

So…you’re not tagged, but what do you think?

Leave a Reply

 
