Byer's Basic Blog

just call us the Tunkhannock Times

$1.84

Posted by joelbyer on November 10, 2008

Yes folks, the price of gas at Port Huron, MI today. Unbelievable. The tank of our minivan was (I think) slightly over half, and we basically filled up for $15.00.

2 Responses to “$1.84”

  1. Rev. Justin J. Nierer said

    Joel,

    If you are the same Joel that commented on Keith Drury’s blog…I just wanted to tell you that I really appreciated your comments and that you really hit the nail on the head.

    I recently attended a holiness consortium in Anderson Indiana. Being 30 years old I was asked to be on the young leaders panel for one of the sessions. I mentioned a number of things you mentioned in your post, and was shot down by not being (are you ready for this?) ORGANIC enough. It turned out to be one of the most awful days of my life and really opened my eyes to the fact that being conservative and young, just isnt considered cool…by anyone.

    Again, thank you for your words. Please stay in touch.

  2. joelbyer said

    Rev. Justin,
    Yes, that’s me. I don’t post a lot of serious stuff on this blog, but thanks for your comments!

    As a 33-year old conservative, I guess I would just encourage you to stay true to your conservative beliefs while being as gracious as possible to those who see otherwise. We feel the sting keenly when people on the other side aren’t being fair. My top concern, however, is to look into the mirror and seriously ask…how am I coming across to others?
    If I’m careful in my tone, conservative views (I think) will come across as much more substantive and carry a certain gravitas.

    Thanks again for your input!

Leave a Reply

 
